Lynne’s House

January 27, 2009


delaware county, indiana

delaware county, indiana

2 Responses to “Lynne’s House”

  1. Lynne Says:

    This is the home that I brought my daughter Brianna home to in 1990. I rented that house for $200.00 a month for 9 years ! I have a lot of fond memories of that old farm house. It was very cozy and had very large rooms. 2 bedrooms, a large kitchen and a small bath with only a shower on the first floor. I have photographs of bathing my daughter in the kitchen sink because there was no bathtub. The upstairs had two large bedrooms but was not heated and was very hot in the summer months so we did not use the space for much other than storage. The house was heated with fuel oil and had no air conditioning but in the summers with the windows open we always got a great cross breeze and didn’t really even miss central air. The partial basement was hand dug and is where the washer and dryer was located. The basement ceiling was so low that I had to duck as to not hit my head. The small building that sits at the back of the house is an old milk house. I had a clothes line which I liked to air dry my bed sheets in the spring and summer. Money was lean for me in those days but if I could go back in time I would not change a thing.

    • julayne Says:

      lynne,
      thanks for the trip down memory lane! that was really a bargain price on the rent, wasn’t it? i wonder what wallace hayes charges these days?
      peace!
      julie


Leave a Reply

